Posted by: Jay | January 5, 2008

LDS Blog increase

Recently, I’ve noticed an increase in the number of LDS blogs going up. This probably has something to do with the talk that Elder Ballard gave (I think it was him) telling students at BYU Hawaii they should get involved in “new media”. These blogs all seem to want to “spread the good news” by answering questions people have about the LDS faith. Many of them are put up by return missionaries that think they are capable of answering questions because of growing up in the Church and their two year stint as LDS representatives.

I ventured into some of these blogs to discuss a few of the things I’ve talked about here. I’m interested to know how many of them know about the issues and how much they know. Most seem vaguely aware of the issues that others outside their faith have with Mormonism. It appears that they have no interest in truly answering questions, but rather avoiding hard questions by giving vague answers, oft repeated in LDS lore and returning to their message. I even visited one site where all my comments are erased. The author chooses instead to post “answers” to my questions after deleting them and then deleting my further questions about the answer. This is no way to have a discussion. Mormons are not alone in using this tactic, other religious people do it too. They post something and either don’t allow comments or delete your comment if they don’t agree (so no one will know, shhhhhh).

I understand not wanting to get involved in a heated conversation, however, I think many Mormons (and other Christians) get defensive way too fast. Try to consider that maybe the person asking questions is struggling with the issues and is desperately trying to find answers or learn how others have come to grips with the issues. This is much better than assuming some evil intent and cutting off the conversation. If it distracts from the conversation then ask the person to email you and hold a dialogue that way. Otherwise what you are doing is only pushing them further away from you and your message.

Responses

  1. Jay,

    I recently started a Pro-LDS blog at http://www.thoughtsonlds.blogspot.com I am trying to share my views about my religion. You are free to make any comments you like. Well ok, let me leave myself a caveat, if you post any profanity, or overly rude remarks, I’ll probably delete them as my children also read the blog. If on the other hand, you want to read what I wrote, and then post a contrarian view in my comments section, that’s fine. The church has nothing to hide. That’s why we send out over 50K missionaries world wide to try and explain what we’re all about.

    Have a great day.

  2. Great Dano, I’ll check it out. It is nice to know that some people still want a good discussion. Don’t worry about profanity I don’t don’t use it.

  3. Jay-
    this is Mindy from anldsconvo.wordpress.com
    I really appreciate your comments and questions on my blog. I hope my answers aren’t too vague. But really, my last comment about me finding out later after I die is what I have done to deal with things that I know people who are not LDS struggle with. Also, I have never struggled with those sort of things, because of the testimony I have. I know the things I am doing now in my life are making me happy and I am unhappy when I don’t follow the teachings of God.

    Oh yeah, and I didn’t serve a mission. I am just a wife and a mother of a little one year old baby. I played sports all of my life, in high school and in college. I just love to discuss the gospel. I love to hear what you have to say so thanks for coming and posting on my blog.

    -Mindy

  4. Mindy,
    I too had a strong testimony. I have served a mission, been married in the temple and have 3 beautiful kids. I’ve served in many leadership callings and still rarely miss a meeting. I too thought that my testimony was inpenitrable. I “knew” the Church was true beyond a “shadow of a doubt”. What I realized is that I don’t really know and now I don’t even fully believe anymore, although I want to.

    It isn’t just the polygamy issue there are many things that just don’t add up. I’m not saying there is anything better, but I expected more from our Church. I expect straightforwardness, honesty about our history, etc. I held this Church and its leaders to a higher standard. This is probably the fault of the Church itself. We are always taught to ALWAYS do what our leader say. They are men of God that communicate directly with him. Its a shock when you find out this is not always the case. If we were taught that they are just men being guided by inspiration, but just like you and me, I might have been able to stomach some of the things I’ve learned. I don’t quite know what to do about blacks being denied the priesthood and Brigham Young’s insistance that it would always be that way or his racist remarks.

    I also have a problem with the Book of Mormon. I used to think it was unique, but it turns out that the idea that the indians were isrealites was a common one at the time and that at least two books that have similar stories were written just a few years before the Book of Mormon near Joseph Smiths home. One of them was written by a Oliver Cowdry’s hometown preacher. I could handle one or two things that are askew, but when there are so many things that just don’t match what I was taught it causes me to wonder.

    I don’t blame you for feeling the way you do. I did too once. Unfortunately, I am extremely busy too, but I use my spare time to research more. By research I don’t mean that I go to anti-Mormon sites. I really don’t like them because they are so bias (although I understand their criticisms of the Church). I have been going to the source documents (e.g. 1830 Book of Mormon, Original View of the Hebrews), and church friendly sources to get my information (e.g. fairlds.org, mormonstories, Joseph Smith: Rough Stone Rolling by Richard Bushman.). If I am confronted by an anti-Mormon I always check their criticism against a Church friendly source. Although they many time misreprent or skew things to look the worst way, what they say is based on real history that members are not told (they have to look for it).

  5. Well Jay, I am not sure what to say other than I truly hope you can find your way again to be happy. :) I disagree that we have been taught ALWAYS to follow the prophet. I feel I have been taught to pray about anything the prophet says and the Lord will confirm it to me too. Like Nephi did with his father’s first vision to leave Jerusalem. I also know that it is the doctrine of the church that is true and we are all alike. We are all just humans trying to get back to God. None of which are perfect. I hope you can find what you are looking for.

  6. I find it hard to believe that you’ve never been told to do what your leader tells you, even if they are wrong, and you will be blessed for it. I have heard this several times during my life as a member at different times and in different wards. Which suggests to me it came from higher up than just the local level.

    I know that if you asked LDS members if the prophet is perfect they would say no. However, we do hold him up on a pedestal close to perfection. We do not think of him as “just like us”.

    I too hope I can find what I’m looking for. If nothing else, I hope for peace of mind.

  7. Well, Jay, I am a different kind of person who doesn’t look at things like most others and I always have been that way. I have never heard anyone say do what they (leaders) say even if they are wrong and you’ll be blessed.

    Also, yeah we look to the prophet as a sort of celebrity in awe, but I think that is because we know that he is called of God to lead Jesus Christ’s church here on the earth. I find nothing wrong with that and my confirmation comes from the Holy Ghost. So that is all I can really say about that. No justifying it or backing it up with facts.

    I am just glad to be a part of the conversation. I know you will find what you are looking for Jay. Life will all work out for you. :)

  8. Cool blog. Good luck on your journey.

  9. Thanks ldsconvo. I understand your point of view and respect you for it. I hope you continue to be part of these conversations in the future.

    Bro. Seers,

    Thanks. I’m doing my best to figure things out and hoping that others can help me out too with their insight and knowledge. I’m happy to see that you came by to check out mormons talk. I’ve enjoyed reading your wife’s blog. I think it is important to keep a record of our fight for truth. Who knows it may actually help someone else, not to mention help us understand ourselves better. So when are you starting a blog?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

