Posted by: Jay | May 3, 2007

“We have sinned against you”

I came across this article today. It appears to be couple of years old, but I was impress at the attitude with which the speaker approaches the LDS members. I hope that everyone Mormon and non-Mormon can follow his example. You can read the whole article here. Here are a few quotes from the talk that I enjoyed.

“I know that I have learned much in this continuing dialogue, and I am now convinced that we evangelicals have often seriously misrepresented the beliefs and practices of the Mormon community. Indeed, let me state it bluntly to the LDS folks here this evening: we have sinned against you. The God of the Scriptures makes it clear that it is a terrible thing to bear false witness against our neighbors, and we have been guilty of that sort of transgression in things we have said about you. We have told you what you believe without making a sincere effort first of all to ask you what you believe.”

“We have not been afraid to argue strenuously with each other, but our arguments have been conducted in a sincere desire genuinely to understand each other-and in the process we have formed some deep bonds of friendship.”

Wow! Now there is a brave man! He actually said, “We have sinned against you” and admitted to misrepresenting Mormon theology. I really like the second quote above because I think that this is how we should all try to approach religious conversations. Walk away with a greater understanding of each other and with a bond of friendship between you. What do you think of these quotes?

Responses

  1. Yes, I really respect Dr. Mouw’s comments. I think there is a lot of truth and humility expressed in his statement. Hopefully his attitude and example will spread to others.

  2. Dando,
    You rock!!:)

  3. Here’s a link to a post I made about the same quote.

    http://ldstalk.wordpress.com/2007/02/25/we-need-to-apologize/

  4. Jay, I finally got back with you over at HI4LDS. Thanks for waiting. And btw, I am not a fan of Richard Mouw. But of course, he is not a fan of Christian fundamentalism and many of the smaller remnants of conservative evangelicalism.

  5. Todd,
    I wasn’t aware of any contention between Mouw and other Christians. I guess it is my fault for lumping people into groups. I’ll check out your response. Thanks!

  6. Yes, there are many Christians who might hate the statements of Mouw or Hazen more than they hate Mormons because they think they are embracing heresy and not condemning it as strongly as they think they should. It’s a methodological division.

    “If you don’t hate Mormonism as much as I do and fight against it the way I do, you must be as bad as the Mormons.” The street preachers that show up at General Conference would probably treat me the same way they treat you (if not worse).

  7. I know a couple EVXtian pastors who were not pleased to have Meow speak for them. They don’t feel nearly the same about mormons…they love us as people, but think our theology is quite a bit flawed.

    One of these preachers went so far as to say that the BOM is a very Christian book – but the whole “man can be God, God was a man” is too much for a lot of Christians to accept as a safe theology.


Leave a Reply

Categories

